Outdoor Channel and Sportsman Channel Unveil Winners of the 16th Annual Outdoor Sportsman Awards

WHAT:              Outdoor Channel and Sportsman Channel, part of Outdoor Sportsman Group – Networks, announced the winners of its 16th Annual Outdoor Sportsman Awards Powered by RAM (OSA). The ceremony took place during the National Shooting Sports Foundation’s (NSSF) annual Shooting, Hunting, and Outdoor Trade Show (SHOT Show) and Conference in Las Vegas. The show was streamed live online and viewers were able to follow along through the networks’ respective social media platforms using the hashtag #OutdoorSportsmanAwards.


WHO:               The OSA were co-hosted by Michael Waddell of Outdoor Channel’s Realtree Road Trips with Michael Waddell and Michael Waddell’s Bone Collector, and Tom McMillan of Sportsman Channel’s MCMILLAN.



On the Red Carpet with Eva Shockey, Tiffany Lakosky and Nicole Reeve at our #OutdoorSportsmanAwards from #ShotShow2016 in Las Vegas. (Outdoor Sportsman Group photo)

The awards show began with an introduction by Jim Liberatore, Outdoor Sportsman Group – Networks President and CEO, who then set the stage for a special appearance by GOP presidential frontrunner and business magnate Donald Trump.

The night included performances by Rock and Roll Hall of Famer John Fogerty, former lead singer for Creedence Clearwater Revival, and Kristy Lee Cook, former American Idol finalist and co-star of Sportsman Channel’s The Most Wanted List.

Many guest presenters were on hand to give out awards as well: Taya Kyle, wife of late U.S. Navy SEAL Chris Kyle, the most prolific sniper in American history and frequent Outdoor Channel guest star; Krissy Wejebe, daughter of late legendary angler and Spanish Fly star Jose Wejebe; Willie Robertson, star of Duck Dynasty and Buck Commander protected by Under Armour on Outdoor Channel; Eva Shockey co-star of Outdoor Channel’s Jim Shockey’s Hunting AdventuresLouie Tuminaro, host of Outdoor Channel’s The Gunfather presented by BrownellsJana Waller, star of Sportsman Channel’s Skull Bound TVDavid and Karin Holder of Outdoor Channel’s Raised Hunting; National Rifle Association Vice President Pete Brownell; and Bass Pro Shops Director of Conservation Rob Keck.

In total, 17 Outdoor Sportsman Awards were presented during the ceremony. Two were awarded for the Fan Favorite Host(s) category, one going to Michael Waddell, Travis “T-Bone” Turner and Nick Mundt, the stars of Outdoor Channel’s Michael Waddell’s Bone Collector, and the other going to Tim Wells of Sportsman Channel’s Relentless Pursuit.

Outdoor Sportsman Awards went to the following winners…

Best Overall: Trev Gowdy’s Monster Fish

Best New Series – Outdoor Channel: GunnyTime with R. Lee Ermey

Best New Series – Sportsman Channel: Huntin’ Fool

Best Deer Hunting: Crush with Lee & Tiffany

Best Big Game: Driven with Pat & Nicole

Best Bird Hunting: Arrow Affliction presented by Mossy Oak

Best Fishing: Trev Gowdy’s Monster Fish

Best Shooting Sports: NRA All Access

Best General Interest: MidwayUSA’s Gun Stories

Best Comedy: The Reluctant Outdoorsman

Best Commercial: Minn Kota – Ulterra

Best Graphics: Drury’s THIRTEEN

Best Show Open: Bow Madness

Best Sound Design: Arrow Affliction presented by Mossy Oak

Best Videography: Hunt Masters

Fan Favorite Host(s) – Outdoor Channel: Michael Waddell, Travis “T-Bone” Turner and Nick Mundt – Michael Waddell’s Bone Collector

Fan Favorite Host(s) – Sportsman Channel: Tim Wells – Relentless Pursuit

WHERE:           The Outdoor Sportsman Awards took place inside The Venetian Theatre at The Venetian Hotel & Casino in Las Vegas, Nevada.

WHEN:             The ceremony was held on Thursday, January 21 from 8-11 p.m. PT.


  • About The WON

    The Women's Outdoor News, aka The WON, features news, reviews and stories about women who are shooting, hunting, fishing and actively engaging in outdoor adventure. This publication is for women, by women.